This site has been advertising illegal d/l’s for years...
See where it says “free movies, tv shows, music videos, mp3’s”
Im sure everyone has checked the site out, but after I looked into it deeper, I found that its a huge scam. Theres many sites that are similar to that one and are also a scam.
All that site is is a p2p site that is cleverly disguised.
This is written at the bottom of the site:
themoviedownloads.com wrote:
The purchase of a membership, however, is not a license to upload or download copyrighted material.
We urge you to respect copyright and share responsibly. Click here for info on using p2p safely.
And yet they have copyrighted material readily available for download.
So this site has illegal D/L....except they make you PAY for them.
They even show you a demo and if you have ever used lime wire you will see an immense amount of familiarity.
Here are some articles about the site:
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/themoviedownloads.com?domain=themoviedownloads.com&suite=false&premium=false&client_ver=ie_2.4.6066.0&client_type=IEPlugin
http://rachaelwroteit.blogspot.com/2007/02/another-movie-pirate-site.html
http://www.better-internet-bureau.org/discus/messages/2/2699.html
Last edited 17 Dec 2007 08:26 pm by anti-moviecodec.
Cid on illegal downloads
Guest
I actually never clicked it.. Mostly because I have my own means of obtaining things I want. But it always has been kinda ironic that Bjarne forbids us from talking about illegal downloads and yet he has advertisements for them on the site.
Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 32,780
OFFLINE
NEREVAR117Addict (beyond 1337)
Rep: 71
*looks around*
you guys just know realized this?
Cid on illegal downloads
Guest
NEREVAR117 wrote:
*looks around*
you guys just know realized this?
Nope.. I noticed it a long time ago.. And I think Anti made a topic like this a while back too. haha
Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 32,780
OFFLINE
NEREVAR117Addict (beyond 1337)
Rep: 71
Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 7,488
OFFLINE
Silent PyramidWith My Freeze Ray...
Rep: 25
...we all knew it advertised illegal stuff...heh heh....
__________________
The Fear of Blood Tends to Create the fear for the flesh-SH

Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 8,080
OFFLINE
P. MooreM v C Graphics Designer
Rep: 14
i have clicked on them once, bjarne is making money of us! and btw who actually buys the stuff on those ads? they companies must be losing alot of cash advertising here
__________________

Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 8,702
SA-XCorrupted...
Rep: 25
You guys still have yet to discover...
__________________

Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 6,513
OFFLINE
SqeelAddict (beyond 1337)
Rep: 26
I do not
__________________

Help me raise my Habamon!
NEREVAR117 wrote:
*looks around*
you guys just know realized this?
Ive knowin it was a scam for awhile.
I just never noticed they used p2p and a lime wire look a like for you to download it.
Cid on illegal downloads wrote:
NEREVAR117 wrote:
*looks around*
you guys just know realized this?
Nope.. I noticed it a long time ago.. And I think Anti made a topic like this a while back too. haha
Ya know, now that I think about I think I did....
But I think I was just asking if anyone used it before or some bullshit.
Last edited 17 Dec 2007 09:15 pm by anti-moviecodec.
Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 21,939
DingoMaDnESsSsS!
Rep: 82
I never bothered clicking on any of the stuff on the downloads page....i don’t think I have ever even been on the downloads page...
I find all my stuff around other places where its all about risk vs reward.
__________________

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 2,362
OFFLINE
LinksUBER 1337 Poster
Rep: 13
i stay in the lounge. alltho i did read to see how the lounge was made.
__________________
Last edited 21 Aug 2069 1:68 pm by Links